StanWing.Com - Insignia of the U.S.A.

Southwest Airlines Supervisory Pilot Wing

Dallas, TX 1967-Current

This airline started as Air Southwest on March 16, 1967. On March 29, 1971 Air Southwest Co. changed its name to Southwest Airlines Co. Operating from its Dallas, Texas, headquarters, Southwest Airlines began service on June 18, 1971 . The Wright Amendment of 1979 is a federal law governing traffic at Dallas Love Field which limited Southwest to fly only in Texas. The Shelby Amendment added Alabama, Mississippi and Kansas. Southwest bought Muse Air when Muse was on the verge of collapse in 1985. After completing the acquisition, Southwest renamed MuseAir TranStar Airlines. TranStar became a wholly owned subsidiary of Southwest and operated as an independent airline. Southwest eventually sold TransStar's assets to Texas Air in August 1987. Southwest acquired Morris Air in 1992. Congress passed Wright-related legislation which essentially negated the Wright Amendment and it was signed into law on October 13, 2006. Southwest acquired certain assets from bankrupt ATA Airlines in 2008. On May 2, 2011 Southwest Airlines completed the acquisition of Air Tran Airways by purchasing all of the outstanding common stock, corporate identity and operating assets of AirTran Holdings, Inc.


© 2005 Stanley Baumwald @ All Rights Reserved.